Elder Scrolls Online Launches Today For Early Access Players

By Pete Haas 2014-03-29 21:26:32 discussion comments
fb share tweet share
Today the MMORPG Elder Scrolls Online officially launches on the PC and Mac. ZeniMax Online Studios is only letting a select group of players into the game for now, though.

The players receiving access today bought the digital standard edition through the official Elder Scrolls Online store. Everyone who bought the Imperial Edition in either physical or digital form can start playing as well. Here's when this group can start exploring Tamriel:
  • North America (East): 7:00 AM EDT, Sunday March 30th
  • UK/IE: 12:00 PM WEST, Sunday March 30th
  • Central Europe: 1:00 PM CEST, Sunday March 30th
  • Sydney, Australia: 10:00 PM AEDT, Sunday March 30th
  • Singapore: 7:00 PM SGT, Sunday March 30th
These players get several other perks as well. They can choose any race for their character regardless of what alliance they choose. These characters will start their adventure with a scuttler non-combat pet and a bundle of treasure maps. Imperial Edition owners get their own set of exclusive content, including access to a new Imperial race and experience-boosting rings.

Elder Scrolls Online takes several hundred years before the single-player Elder Scrolls games like Skyrim and Morrowind. Players join an alliance and participate in their three-way war for Cyrodiil, the central province of Tamriel. The game also serves up the usual MMO content like quests and dungeons. At the level cap of 50, players can access open-world adventure zones as well as 12-player trials.

ZeniMax recommends that you use this name generator app when you're creating a character. The app offers up random names based on gender and race. It's said to have over 8,400 lore-friendly names.

You can jump into the PvP war at Cyrodiil starting at level 10. The player population is split up between several different "campaigns," each with its own scoreboard. The better your alliance does within your campaign, the more bonuses you'll receive for the wider game.

Server capacity shouldn't be an issue tomorrow because only a limited pool of players have access. However, just in case, the game offers overflow servers. They act as temporary homes for players waiting to get access to the main server. You can play the game normally but can't access PvP or social features. Your progression will carry over to the main server when it's available.

The game will fill up even more on April 1st. On that day, all other gamers who pre-ordered can jump in. Everyone else will have to wait until April 4th to play. Check the official schedule to find out the exact time you can log into the game.


discussion
Blended From Around The Web
Subscribe To Topics You're Interested In
Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
<
Back to top
GET GB IN YOUR FEED
RELATED
TOP GAMES
HOT TOPICS
ABOUT US FAQ PRIVACY POLICY JOBS APPS CONTACT
© Cinema Blend LLC / All rights reserved