GAMING BLEND

Minecraft: The Story of Mojang Film Debuting On Xbox Live This Weekend

By Pete Haas 2012-12-18 11:21:41 discussion comments
fb share tweet share
Minecraft is by far one of the most fascinating success stories of this video game generation. A new documentary from 2 Player Productions follows the evolution of the game from cult classic to global phenomena.

The documentary centers on the first year of Mojang. Mojang is a Sweden-based developer founded by Markus "Notch" Persson, the creator of Minecraft, along with Jakob PorsÚr and Carl Manneh. Over the course of that year, the company grew to 12 employees. Their game Minecraft, meanwhile, attracted more and more players.

2 Player Productions mixes in footage of Mojang with interviews of gaming industry heavyweights like Tim Schafer and Peter Molyneux. They also spoke with players and journalists. The Penny Arcade creators pitch in some commentary as well.

The film was in production for almost two years. Gamers provided financial backing for the project through the crowd-funding site Kickstarter.

Xbox Live Gold members will be able to watch the film free on December 22nd. The free screening will be held at 5pm PST / 8pm EST in the US and 7pm GMT/8pm CET in Europe. The film will go on sale to the general public on the following day.



discussion
Blended From Around The Web
Subscribe To Topics You're Interested In
Comments
Load Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Back to top
SEARCH GB
GET GB IN YOUR FEED
Horror Movies
ABOUT US FAQ PRIVACY POLICY JOBS APPS CONTACT
© Cinema Blend LLC / All rights reserved