It might be an anomaly, or it just might prove to be luck, but when most bands name their album after any color, it normally turns out to be their best effort. The Beatles were the first band to prove this with The White Album, or simply The Beatles, while other groups like Jay-Z and his opus The Black Album changed the hip-hop scene forever. Producer Danger Mouse even cashed in on this phenomenon and created the best mash-up record to date, The Grey Album, a mix between, you guessed it, The White Album and The Black Album. Continuing in this fashion is a new record from the only people who could ever pull this off, folks behind The Muppet’s. In the next step of their genius marketing campaign, The Green Album will be born. Not only is this movie one of the most highly anticipated of the year, but to boot, they are now making a cover album of Muppet songs performed by some of the best acts around today. Living out the prophecy of fantastic albums named after colors, who else is more suitable to do this than The Muppets?

This shouldn’t be surprising to you at all. After making a plethora of wildly creative and hilarious teasers spoofing disappointing movies of the summer like The Hangover Part 2 and The Green Lantern, it’s as if the makers of this film can do no wrong. As though the gods of good entertainment have given this movie the right to only create spectacular posters, trailers and CD's. The Green Album will undoubtedly rock the very perception we have of cover albums, with: Ok Go, Weezer, My Morning Jacket, Andrew Bird, Amy Lee and Alkaline Trio making appearances. This 12 song extravaganza has the potential of being quite an amazing effort. Not only have color albums only proved to be worthy thus far, but with Ok Go covering “The Muppet Show” theme song, Weezer and Paramore’s Hayley Williams dueting on “Rainbow Connection” and My Morning Jacket performing “Our World,” this will surely be on everyone’s radar.

If you haven’t gotten the gist already, the marketing behind this movie has definitely kept persistent in making the movie seem awesome. Not only is this album collaboration based off the film of Jason Segel and Amy Adams attempting to help Kermit the Frog reunite his friends to save Muppet Theater, but the movie will also feature 4 new musical numbers plus old favorites like “Mah Na Mah Na.” Keeping up in all things rock and roll, Foo Fighter Dave Grohl is making a well deserved cameo appearance, which is very exciting to think about.

The Green Album will be released August 23rd, while The Muppets will hit theaters 3 months later on November 23rd. Here is the track-list:

01. OK Go – Muppet Show Theme
02. Weezer and Paramore’s Hayley Williams – Rainbow Connection
03. The Fray – Mahna Mahna
04. Alkaline Trio – Moving Right Along
05. My Morning Jacket – Our World
06. Amy Lee – Halfway Down the Stairs
07. Sondre Lerche – Mr. Bassman
08. The Airborne Toxic Event – Wishing Song
09. Atreyu’s Brandon Saller and Good Charlotte’s Billy Martin – Night Life
10. Andrew Bird – Bein’ Green
11. Matt Nathanson – I Hope That Something Better Comes Along
12. Rachael Yamagata – I’m Going to Go Back There Someday

Compliments of Spin Magazine, the My Morning Jacket cover of “Our World” was released today and is exactly what you would expect: Jim James' sprawling psychedelics meets The Muppets. Would you want anything else? Click on the link, or watch the embedded version below.



Can't Miss

Gateway Blend ©copyright 2017