AC/DC today ended weeks of rumors and speculation by confirming that they will distribute their new album Black Ice exclusively through mega-retailer WalMart. The Brendan O’Brien produced CD will be released on October 20 and be available through WalMart and Sams Club, as well as on AC/DC’s website, which is also accepting pre-orders for the album. Black Ice can also be pre-ordered through WalMart’s website.

Black Ice is AC/DC’s first new studio album in eight years, and was recorded in Vancouver B.C. with AC/DC members Brian Johnson (vocals), Angus and Malcolm Young (guitars), Cliff Williams (bass), and Phil Rudd (Drums). Producer Brendan O’Brien is best known for his work with such artists as Pearl Jam and Bruce Springsteen. The first single “Rock ‘N’ Roll Train,” will be out on August 28. The band also plans a world tour – including a return to American arenas - behind Black Ice, with details to be announced soon.

With their WalMart deal, AC/DC joins the growing ranks of rock bands who have opted to exclusively distribute their recordings through a single retailer. The Eagles, Journey, and Genesis each signed up for exclusivity deals with WalMart on their most recent releases. More recently, The Police announced they would distribute their upcoming live CD/DVD set Certifiable through Best Buy.

Retail exclusivity deals remain a source of controversy within the record industry. While most believe the deals to be advantageous to the artists, because of the big money guarantees they receive, critics have cited how such deals freeze independent music retailers out of the action. In many cases, such smaller outlets played key roles in breaking the artists on the way up.

Here is the track listing for AC/DC’s Black Ice:

"Rock 'n' Roll Train"
"Skies on Fire"
"Big Jack"
"Anything Goes"
"War Machine"
"Smash n Grab"
"Spoilin' for a Fight"
"Stormy May Day"
"She Likes Rock 'n' Roll"
"Money Made"
"Rock 'n' Roll Dream"
"Rocking All the Way"
"Black Ice"

Blended From Around The Web


Hot Topics


Gateway Blend ©copyright 2017