Anybody remember Glen Campbell?

Well for those of you who don’t, allow me to refresh your memory. Before there was Garth Brooks, Kenny Chesney, or Sugarland, Glen Campbell was selling boatloads of country records at a time when the likes of the Beatles, the Stones, and the Doors otherwise ruled the Billboard pop charts.

During the sixties and seventies, Campbell enjoyed a near unprecedented run of hits – especially for a country artist – including such classics as “By The Time I Get To Phoenix,” “Wichita Lineman,” and the #1 smash “Rhinestone Cowboy.” He had his own weekly variety show on TV, and was a fixture in the supermarket tabloids thanks to a stormy relationship with fellow country star Tanya Tucker. A masterful guitarist in addition to being a gifted singer, Campbell was also regarded as a true musician's musician by those in the know.

More recently, Glen Campbell has unfortunately achieved a less enviable sort of notoriety, having his mug-shot posted all over the Internet following a well-publicized DUI arrest, where reports also had him singing his songs from a jail cell.

Having since cleaned up his act following that incident, Glen Campbell is now eyeing a musical comeback. The singer plans to reintroduce himself to the music world on August 19 with a new album called, appropriately enough, Meet Glen Campbell. On the album, Campbell does cover versions of songs by more contemporary artists ranging from Tom Petty to U2 to Travis to The Replacements. Meet Glen Campbell also marks Campbell’s return to Capitol, the label where he originally achieved his greatest successes in the sixties and seventies. Capitol plans to promote Meet Glen Campbell aggressively.

On Thursday, August 14, Campbell will be interviewed live on the syndicated "Mark & Brian" morning radio show. Broadcast live from KLOS 95.5 FM Los Angeles, "Mark & Brian" is heard on 15 Classic Rock stations in Western states. On the same date, Yahoo! Music will launch "Early Edition," exclusively streaming Meet Glen Campbell in its entirety before the album's CD and digital release.

On Monday, August 18, AOL will premiere "Glen Campbell: AOL Sessions," an exclusive filmed performance by Campbell and his band, and Acoustic Café will premiere Campbell and his band's exclusive performance for the syndicated radio show, heard on more than 75 commercial and non-commercial radio stations across the U.S. and also carried worldwide by Voice Of America.

On Tuesday, August 19, the album's CD and digital release date, a new music video for Meet Glen Campbell's "Angel Dream" will be exclusively premiered by Yahoo! Music. The nationally syndicated TV program "Entertainment Tonight" will air an interview with Campbell, and Campbell will perform a special concert at the Troubadour in Los Angeles, presented by KCRW, 89.9 FM.

On Friday, August 29, Campbell and his band will perform a song from Meet Glen Campbell on ABC's "Jimmy Kimmel Live" (12:05am ET/PT; 11:05pm CT).

On Wednesday, September 3, NPR's "World Café," carried by nearly 200 public radio stations across the country, will broadcast an exclusive performance by Campbell and his band. In the meantime, you can check out the Meet Glen Campbell trailer video at YouTube.

Here is the track listing for Meet Glen Campbell:

1. Sing (Travis)
2. Walls (Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers)
3. Angel Dream (Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers)
4. Times Like These (Foo Fighters)
5. These Days (Jackson Browne)
6. Sadly Beautiful (The Replacements)
7. All I Want Is You (U2)
8. Jesus (Velvet Underground)
9. Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life) (Green Day)
10. Grow Old With Me (John Lennon)

Blended From Around The Web


Hot Topics


Gateway Blend ©copyright 2017