Members of Metallica, Alice In Chains, Slayer, and Anthrax are among the elite group of heavy metal’s finest who will participate in a tribute to fallen comrade “Dimebag” Darrell Abbott, former guitarist for Pantera and Damageplan, at this year’s Ozzfest in Dallas, Texas.

According to Rolling the all-star jam will include Metallica’s Kirk Hammett, Slayer’s Kerry King, Jerry Cantrell of Alice In Chains and Anthrax’s Scott Ian. Bob Zilla of Damageplan and Dimebag’s brother Vinnie Paul will also participate in the all-star tribute. Appropriately, the Ozzfest tribute takes place August 9 in Dallas, which Dimebag Darrell also called home.

The guitarist, best known for his work in Pantera, and widely regarded today as a leading influence on the current generation of heavy metal musicians, was shot and killed by a crazed fan while playing onstage with his band Damageplan during a 2004 performance. The shooter, a crazed fan, was initially said to be distraught over the breakup of Dimebag Darrell’s former band Pantera.

Meanwhile, new details about Metallica’s upcoming album, the Rick Rubin produced Death Magnetic have also been revealed, including a final, complete tracklist for the set, which is expected to be released in September by Warner Bros. The album, which is said to be a return to the straight ahead, no-frills speed metal of early albums like Ride The Lightnin’ and Kill Em’ All nonetheless includes at least one reference to their more recent, radio-friendly metal in the form of the track “The Unforgiven III.”

Here is the complete track list for Metallica’s Death Magnetic: "That Was Just Your Life"
"The End of the Line"
"Broken, Beat & Scarred"
"The Day That Never Comes"
"All Nightmare Long"
"The Unforgiven III"
"The Judas Kiss"
"Suicide & Redemption"
"My Apocalypse"

Blended From Around The Web


Hot Topics


Gateway Blend ©copyright 2017