The Hurt Locker blew away the members of the National Society of Film Critics. As reported by the LA Times, not only did the organization name the film best picture, but it also awarded Kathryn Bigelow best director honors and, more surprisingly, Jeremy Renner the best actor title. Renner is fantastic in the film, but his contenders - Jeff Bridges, Georg Clooney, Colin Firth and Morgan Freeman - are far more obvious choices.

The NSFC followed the Los Angeles Film Critics Association in naming Seraphine’s Yolande Moreau best actress. The group was split on the supporting actor category awarding the honor to both Inglourious Basterds’ Christoph Waltz and Bright Star’s Paul Schneider. Mo’nique continues to pave her way to Oscar glory nabbing best actress in a supporting role for Precious.

Best screenplay went to Joel and Ethan Coen for A Serious Man, best foreign-language film to Summer Hours and best non-fiction film to The Beaches of Agnes. Christian Berger was awarded best cinematography for The White Ribbon and lastly, Nelson Lowry for best production design for Fantastic Mr. Fox.

The critics are certainly behind The Hurt Locker, Mo’nique and Christoph Waltz, but as we get closer to the Oscars, the big question is whether or not the Academy follows suit. I’m certainly putting my money on those contenders for the win. I can’t say the same for Renner or even Moreau. The odds are in Jeff Bridges’ favor for Crazy Heart and I’m holding out for Precious’ Gabby Sidibe.

Blended From Around The Web


Hot Topics


Gateway Blend ©copyright 2017