Hank Williams is considered by many as the most influential country music artist ever. Between the short period of 1947 till his death in 1953 at the young age of 29, the singer songwriter released thirty top ten singles throughout his lifetime and five posthumously. His most famous songs were "Your Cheatin' Heart," "Hey Good Lookin'," and "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry.”

For years Williams has had a profound influence on many bands and his catalog of smash hits is still being covered by numerous groups. Musicians like his son Hank Williams Jr. as well as, Willie Nelson, Tony Bennett, The Residents, Patsy Cline, Ray Charles, Jerry Lee Lewis, Louis Armstrong, Townes Van Zandt, Bob Dylan, Elvis Presley, Leonard Cohen, Cake, Kenny Rankin, Beck Hansen, Johnny Cash and Tom Petty are still offering tribute to this fallen star.

Continuing with this legacy, Rolling Stone reveals that the next album keeping Hank's music relevant will be a tribute to his unheard songs, called The Lost Notebooks of Hank Williams. This new collection of his previous material was recorded by artists such as Bob Dylan, Jack White, Norah Jones and Levon Helm. RS explains:

The songs featured in the set were rescued from notebooks left behind in a leather briefcase by Williams after he died…The notes contained lyrics and song ideas that were finished by the 13 artists who contributed to the disc. The full story of Williams' notebooks will be told in the album's liner notes, which were penned by Michael McCall of the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum.

Bob Dylan and Jack White are the perfect people to restore Williams’ songs that were never made. This effort will likely explode in sales because of the musicians involved on the project. Bob Dylan’s son Jakob, with his band The Wallflowers, will be performing a song on the record as well as Lucinda Williams (no relations to Hank) and Sheryl Crow.

This multi-artist collaboration is a magnificent restoration brought to you by veteran A&R executive Mary Martin. The Lost Notebooks of Hank Williams will drop October 4th via Bob Dylan's imprint Egyptian Records. For the full track listing, or to see who recorded which song, look below:

The Lost Notebooks of Hank Williams
1. Alan Jackson "You've Been Lonesome, Too"
2. Bob Dylan "The Love That Faded"
3. Norah Jones "How Many Times Have You Broken My Heart?"
4. Jack White "You Know That I Know"
5. Lucinda Williams "I'm So Happy I Found You"
6. Vince Gill and Rodney Crowell "I Hope You Shed a Million Tears"
7. Patty Loveless "You're Through Fooling Me"
8. Levon Helm "You'll Never Again Be Mine"
9. Holly Williams "Blue Is My Heart"
10. Jakob Dylan "Oh, Mama, Come Home"
11. Sheryl Crow "Angel Mine"
12. Merle Haggard "The Sermon on the Mount"

Blended From Around The Web


Can't Miss

Gateway Blend ©copyright 2017