Subscribe To WGA Announces 2010 Best Videogame Writing Award Nominees Updates
The Writers Guild of America announced their award nominations today. For the fourth year in a row, they'll be recognizing the best videogame writing of the year.

There were five nominees for the award. All were from games released between December 1, 2009 and November 30, 2010. Drumroll, please. Wait, they save drumrolls for the winners? Screw it, here are the noms:

Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood, Story by Patrice Desilets, Jeffrey Yohalem, Corey May; Lead Script Writer: Jeffrey Yohalem; Script Writers: Ethan Petty, Nicholas Grimwood, Matt Turner; Ubisoft

Fallout: New Vegas, Creative Design Lead/Lead Writer: John Gonzalez; Writers: Chris Avellone, Eric Fenstermaker, Travis Stout; Additional Writing: Tess Treadwell, George Ziets, Jason Bergman, Nick Breckon, Matt Grandstaff, Will Noble, Andrew Scharf; Bethesda Softworks

God of War III, Written by Marianne Krawcyzk; Additional Writing by Stig Asmussen, Ariel Lawrence, William Weissbaum; Sony Computer Entertainment

Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands (Wii), Writer: Benjamin McCaw; Story Dialogue Editor: Marianne Krawczyk; Ubisoft

Singularity, Written by Marc Guggenheim, Lindsey Allen, Emily Silver; Additional Story and Writing: Jason Henderson, Adam Foshko, Michael Cassutt; Story and Script Consultant: Adam Foshko; Activision

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II, Executive Producer-Writer: Haden Blackman; In-Game Script: David Collins, John Stafford, Cameron Suey; Additional Writing: Tid Cooney, Ian Dominguez, Tony Rowe; LucasArts

If you're displeased with this list, there's some fine print you can blame. First off, the games had to have separate writing credits. Also, the writers of these games had to have at least applied to be members of the WGA Videogame Writers Caucus by the time scripts were submitted. Also, on a more basic level, someone needs to actually submit the script. The script doesn't need to have been completed under WGA jurisdiction to be eligible, though.

The 2011 Writers Guild Awards will be held on February 5th. The ceremony will take place in two locations simultaneously: the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel-Grand Ballroom in Los Angeles and the AXA Equitable Center in New York City.

Blended From Around The Web



Hot Topics

Cookie Settings