Subscribe To 12 Years A Slave And Nebraska Pull In Big Independent Spirit Award Nominations Updates
Steve McQueen’s harrowing 12 Years a Slave and Alexander Payne’s Nebraska have both become the early frontrunners for the 29th Annual Independent Spirit Awards, as the nominations were announced this morning, Both movies landed nods in key categories, like Best Feature and Best Director, and padding their stats with candidates for Best Male Lead (for Chiwetel Ejiofor and Bruce Dern, respectively), as well as Best Supporting Female and Best Supporting Male.

Presented by Film Independent, the Spirit Awards typically honor the smaller-budget artistic endeavors that harbor Academy Award hopes but - depending on who you talk to - don’t possess the proper budget to realistically campaign for the Oscars. To that end, the complete list of this year’s Spirit Awards nominees include films that hope to compete in Hollywood's biggest race – movies like 12 Years, Nebraska and All Is Lost -- but also features that might be left on the outside looking in come Oscar-nomination morning. Other nominees in the Best Feature category, such as Noah Baumbach's Frances Ha, likely will NOT find their way into the Academy Award's Best Picture race. Having an Indie Spirit Award nomination can help a healthy Oscar campaign, but few movies start here and build.

Still, the Indie Spirit Awards succeed in shining a light on below-the-radar movies that deserve our attention, including titles like Fruitvale Station Blue Caprice and Una Noche, which landed in the Best First Feature category. Of course, the immediate reaction was to which films were "snubbed," in a sense.

Overall it’s an admirable list of deserving films. Patton Oswalt has been tapped to host the show, which will air on March 1st. Click here for the complete list of nominees. Here are the nominees in the top categories.

Best Feature
12 Years a Slave
All Is Lost
Francis Ha
Inside Llewyn Davis

Best Director
Shane Carruth, Upstream Color
J.C. Chandor, All Is Lost
Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave
Jeff Nichols, Mud
Alexander Payne, Nebraska

Best Screenplay
Woody Allen, Blue Jasmine
Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke & Richard Linklater, Before Midnight
Nicole Holofcener, Enough Said
Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber, The Spectacular Now
John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave

Best Female Lead
Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
Julie Delpy, Before Midnight
Gaby Hoffmann, Crystal Fairy
Brie Larson, Short Term 12
Shailene Woodley, The Spectacular Now

Best Male Lead
Bruce Dern, Nebraska
Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave
Oscar Isaac, Inside Llewyn Davis
Michael B. Jordan, Fruitvale Station
Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club
Robert Redford, All Is Lost

Best Supporting Female
Melonie Diaz, Fruitvale Station
Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine
Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave
Yolonda Ross, Go For Sisters
June Squibb, Nebraska

Best Supporting Male
Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave
Will Forte, Nebraska
James Gandolfini, Enough Said
Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club
Keith Stanfield, Short Term 12

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Blended From Around The Web



Hot Topics

Cookie Settings