For the first time, players in Star Wars: The Old Republic will be able to transfer to othewr servers. Unfortunately, they're only letting a small number of players take advantage of these features.

At the moment, transfers are limited to Asia Pacific gamers who bought the game before it actually launched in their region. The ideas is to let players who rolled on, say, an American server to move to a proper Asia Pacific server. It should help their latency quite a bit.

"To qualify for character transfer to an Asia Pacific server, players in Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong and Singapore must have purchased their game, redeemed a Game Product Registration Code and either have or have had entered valid billing information or a Pre-Paid Game Time Card prior to 5:01PM AEDT / 7:01PM NZDT / 2:01PM HKT / 2:01PM SGT on Tuesday, February 28, 2012," reads the fine print from BioWare. "Only characters created before this time qualify for transfers. You can check to see if you qualify by going to your 'My Account' screen on www.StarWarsTheOldRepublic.com and clicking the 'Asia Pacific Transfers' link on the right-side menu."

Eligible players have until 2:01PM AEST / 4:01PM NZST / 12:01PM HKT / 12:01PM SGT on April 24th to submit their request for a transfer. That's a pretty short window of time considering that they're just announcing this program today. BioWare will begin processing the transfers on that date.

Hopefully this is the precursor to a wider server transfer feature for SW:TOR. Even if a server transfer costs money, it's a nice option to have. It ensures that someone who's interested in, say, raiding can more easily find a guild that fits their needs.
Fortnite Is Adding Deadpool As A Skin And Gamers Are Freaking Out news 1y Fortnite Is Adding Deadpool As A Skin And Gamers Are Freaking Out Dirk Libbey
BioWare's 'This Is Anthem' Video Gives An Impressive And Detailed Breakdown games 2y BioWare's 'This Is Anthem' Video Gives An Impressive And Detailed Breakdown Will Usher
Assassin's Creed: Odyssey's Director Has Responded To The DLC Controversy games 2y Assassin's Creed: Odyssey's Director Has Responded To The DLC Controversy Will Usher