It's been a long few years for fans of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire novels. Because the acclaimed novelist has yet to release another installment in the series, despite HBO's Game of Thrones surpassing the current timeline of the books. With each new episode now having the potential for book spoilers, the purists are eager to devour the novelization of Westeros, especially considering Martin hasn't released a new book since back in 2011. But now it appears that a new Game of Thrones story written by George R.R. Martin is coming, and it isn't the upcoming "The Winds of Winter".

Amazon has just listed an upcoming collaborative project titled Book of Swords for pre-order. But how does it relate to Game of Thrones? Well, George R.R. Martin is actually contributing a story to the novel that will be set within the world of Westeros. With no date set for "The Winds of Winter" it's possible that this story will be the only new release by Martin for 2017. The description for the book is as follows,

Fifteen original tales celebrating fantasy's golden age of sword and sorcery, including a new story from George R. R. Martin set in the world of A Game of Thrones!

Advertisement

Now this is exciting news. After a drought of five years, it looks like there will be new George R.R. Martin work to devour. And devour is exactly how the fandom will consume this story.

Of course, releasing an occasional story is kind of George R.R. Martin's MO. Despite taking his time with this detailed and long novels, Martin does seem to understand fan concern. As such, he occasionally released chapters from "The Winds of Winter" on his Live Journal (yes, he still uses one of those). But this is more of a bandage than actual cure, as the fandom promptly goes back to anxiously awaiting the full novel after these chapters are released.

game of thrones season 6

While the TV show Game of Thrones has become wildly successful since the first season aired back in 2011, the novels have a much longer history with fans. George R.R. Martin's first book (also titled "Game of Thrones") was released way back in 1996. This is a series of novels decades in the making, which is part of the reason that HBO's drama had a built in audience. But this also explains why fans of the books are becoming so frustrated with its writer. Folks have been following Jon, Sansa, and Arya for 20 years, and want the damn ending to be perfect

Game of Thrones will return for two short season over the next two summers. The end to the story seems to be put in motion, with the final showing Dany finally sailing to Westeros. Now we'll just have to wait and see if the events of the books go down differently than the TV show that has surpassed it.

Comments

Related

Hot Topics

Hot Shows

Gateway Blend ©copyright 2017