Skip to main content

Skyfall Gets Some Award Season Recognition As Producers Guild Awards Announces Nominees

For the most part this year’s award season race is a total toss-up – there were simply so many great movies released last year that it’s nearly impossible to determine the frontrunner for Hollywood’s top prizes. That said, however, it’s been the same group of titles that has been getting nominations from various organizations, including Ben Affleck’s Argo, Kathryn Bigelow’s Zero Dark Thirty, Steven Spielberg’s Lincoln, David O. Russell’s Silver Linings Playbook, Ang Lee’s Life of Pi, Quentin Tarantino’s Django Unchained and Tom Hooper’s Les Misrables. And while all of those titles are mentioned in the recently announced nominees for this year’s Producers Guild Awards, there are some nice surprises as well.

Some of the better ones include Sam Mendes’ Skyfall and Wes Anderson’s Moonrise Kingdom, both nominated for the top prize. Overall it’s a fairly short list of nominees, as the PGA doesn’t have the same number of categories as the Academy Awards or the Golden Globes, but it also happens to be an enlightened one.

Check out the full list below and for more hardcore awards coverage be sure to check out the latest edition of our own Katey Rich’s Oscar Eye column.

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:

“Argo” (Warner Bros.)

Producers: Ben Affleck, George Clooney, Grant Heslov

“Beasts of the Southern Wild” (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Producers: Michael Gottwald, Dan Janvey, Josh Penn

“Django Unchained” (The Weinstein Company)

Producers: Reginald Hudlin, Pilar Savone, Stacey Sher

“Les Misérables” (Universal Pictures)

Producers: Tim Bevan & Eric Fellner, Debra Hayward, Cameron Mackintosh

Life of Pi” (Fox 2000 Pictures)

Producers: Ang Lee, Gil Netter, David Womark

“Lincoln” (Touchstone Pictures)

Producers: Kathleen Kennedy, Steven Spielberg

“Moonrise Kingdom” (Focus Features)

Producers: Wes Anderson & Scott Rudin, Jeremy Dawson, Steven Rales

“Silver Linings Playbook” (The Weinstein Company)

Producers: Bruce Cohen, Donna Gigliotti, Jonathan Gordon

“Skyfall” (Columbia Pictures)

Producers: Barbara Broccoli, Michael G. Wilson

“Zero Dark Thirty” (Columbia Pictures)

Producers: Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Megan Ellison

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

“Brave” (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)

Producer: Katherine Sarafian

“Frankenweenie” (Walt Disney Pictures)

Producers: Allison Abbate, Tim Burton

“ParaNorman” (Focus Features)

Producers: Travis Knight, Arianne Sutner

“Rise of the Guardians” (Paramount Pictures)

Producers: Nancy Bernstein, Christina Steinberg

“Wreck-It Ralph” (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)

Producer: Clark Spencer

Eric Eisenberg

NJ native who calls LA home; lives in a Dreamatorium. A decade-plus CinemaBlend veteran; endlessly enthusiastic about the career he’s dreamt of since seventh grade.