Even though Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg’s controversial The Interview has been pushed back to December 25, the efforts to raise awareness on the ribald comedy have been heating up as of late. The trades picked up on a story about Sony possibly editing down the hot-button political satire in hopes of preventing a political catastrophe. And now the movie’s lead, James Franco, is willing to take an unusual stance on a massive platform to help promote the film.

Sony announced via a press release that Seth Rogen and James Franco will kick off MTV’s VMA week on Sunday, August 17, with a 30-minute special titled Dave Skylark’s Very Special VMA Special. Skylark is Franco’s character in the film, a television journalist who – in the film – lands a coveted interview with North Korean leader Kim Jung Un. Before he and his producer, Aaron Rapoport (Seth Rogen), can leave for North Korea, though, they are approached by our government and asked to assist in an elaborate plot to assassinate the politician.

So yeah. Controversial.

MTV and Sony say that Franco and Rogen’s special will have the duo in character interacting with VMA performers Nicki Minaj and Iggy Azalea, and VMA nominee Jason Derulo. It will be staged like a celebrity tabloid TV show (think TMZ), with Franco and Rogen "grilling each interviewee about everything ranging from derrières to the benefits of being Australian and the merits of singing one’s name." Hopefully it will be funny.

Asking Franco to host anything is a gamble.

But he joins a long line of people who have appeared in character as part of an MTV awards special to help promote their movie. Like Bruno.

And, of course, Fartman.

So, there’s that. I hope that The Interview doesn’t need gimmicks to sell its comedy. It sounds like it’s ready to push the envelope. The film is directed by Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg. It’s coming out on Christmas Day. Maybe a longer trailer will drop during this MTV special. Stay tuned.

Blended From Around The Web


Hot Topics

Top Movies


Gateway Blend ©copyright 2017