It started as an independent horror hit, turned into a richly successful genre staple, and is now set to have its history rewritten yet again. You certainly can't say that the Halloween franchise is boring, with 11 movies that span from the 1978 original through to this fall's new sequel. This could be intimidating, whether you're a long time fan looking to catch up, or a newbie looking to get in on the fun with the new movie this October. If only there was a guide that could tell you what you need to know to safely wade into the world of Michael Myers...

Well, now there is! And, we're proud to present our latest Newbie Guide, which is a road-map through the history of the villain once known simply as "The Shape." Included will be a rundown of each film in the series, as well as several viewing trees you can enjoy between now and October 19th's release of the new Halloween sequel. It may be early in the year, but in the spirit of the task ahead, feel free to slip on a mask and have a couple Fun Size candies handy, as we present the world of Halloween! Let's start with a list of all the Halloween movies, in the order they were released.


The one that started it all. For over a decade, Michael Myers has been locked in a psychiatric facility, all thanks to that time he murdered his family as a child. But on Halloween night, Michael escaped and started to terrorize the small town of Haddonfield, Illinois. In particular, he finds himself drawn to the film's protagonist, young Laurie Strode, for reasons unknown to anyone. With time running out, and the body count mounting, the only man that has any chance of stopping him is the psychiatrist that knows him best - Dr. Samuel Loomis.

Halloween II

Set later on the same night as Halloween, Halloween II sees Michael Myers still stalking Laurie Strode, who winds up in the hospital after the night's traumatic events. Soon enough, Michael is up to his old tricks again, and Dr. Loomis isn't too far behind him.

Halloween III: Season Of The Witch

The only entry in the series that doesn't deal with Michael Myers, Halloween III: Season of the Witch was supposed to start an anthology approach to the series. A doctor finds himself entangled in a conspiracy involving Halloween masks, witchcraft, and a mass sacrifice, in the week leading up to Halloween night.

Halloween IV: The Return of Michael Myers

Returning the franchise to a Michael Myers-centric mode, Halloween IV: The Return of Michael Myers finds Michael waking up from a ten year coma and pursuing a new target: his niece, Jamie Lloyd. With the return of Michael also comes the return of our hero, Dr. Loomis, as he fights to protect Michael's niece from her uncle's murderous rage.

Halloween V: The Revenge of Michael Myers

One year after Michael's previous rampage, he awakens from another coma to pursue his niece, Jamie Lloyd. Now silent, thanks to the trauma of Halloween IV, Jamie is institutionalized at a children's hospital, as her doctors hope she'll recover her ability to speak. Though she may not be able to speak, she's discovered a new ability that may come in handy.

Halloween: The Curse of Michael Myers

The long, cursed history of Michael Myers is revealed at last, as a survivor from Halloween returns to protect an infant of particular interest to Michael: young Tommy Doyle. The origins of this infant, as well as Michael's ability to survive almost anything, are all tied into one, sinister storyline that sees the final standoff between Michael and Dr. Loomis.

Halloween H20: 20 Years Later

Long thought to be dead in the mythos of the Halloween series, Laurie Strode is reintroduced into the fray. After faking her death in a car accident several years ago, her life has found her the headmistress of a private school, full of fresh faces and new victims for Michael Myers to mow down. That is, if Laurie can't stop him first.

Halloween: Resurrection

The latest in internet reality television, Dangertainment, has a hell of a show lined up for its audience. Six contestants have one night to unlock the secrets of Michael Myers, in the one place that may hold all the answers: his family home. But, of course, Michael may have a couple of secrets that those contestants would die to know. The trouble is, they just might.

Halloween (2007)

A total reboot of the series, Rob Zombie's Halloween remake shows us something we've never seen before: the origins of Michael Myers' psychosis, the course of treatment he underwent with Dr. Samuel Loomis, and his eventual escape from captivity. All of which lead up to that legendary night: the night he came home to hunt Laurie Strode.

Halloween II (2009)

A year after the night he came home (again), Halloween II sees Laurie haunted by the events of Halloween. Over time, she and Michael Myers start to develop hallucinations involving Michael's departed mother, and his younger self. What they mean is not clear, but as the night goes on, Laurie, Dr. Loomis, and Michael will have one last killer showdown.

Halloween (2018)

Ignoring all sequels in the canon, Laurie Strode has moved on from the night he came home, as Michael Myers has been in custody since 1978. With a family of her own, and four decades between her and those events, Laurie is doing pretty ok. But Michael is about to return, forcing his would-be prey into one final confrontation to end things once and for all.

Blended From Around The Web



Hot Topics

Cookie Settings
Gateway Blend ©copyright 2018