Before the big Star Wars: The Force Awakens Comic-Con trailer, before the magazine spreads in Vanity Fair and Entertainment Weekly, before we knew what The First Order was, we had the names. As we learned through the dissection of Kylo Ren, a name can be especially revealing, which is why so many of us have analyzed to death the ones marking the new Star Wars characters. In the latest issue of EW, though, director J.J. Abrams goes deeper into how Finn, Rey, Poe Dameron and the like got to be named as such.

We already learned that Adam Driver’s Sith character received the name Kylo Ren after joining the organization known as The Knights of Ren. Abrams wouldn’t go into any further detail on the matter, but the existence of such a group is interesting, nonetheless. So what about the central trio, as well as folks like Captain Phasma, General Hux and that lovable, rolling droid BB-8? How did these Star Wars character names come to be? Here’s the info we gleaned from EW.

Finn and Rey
As reporter Anthony Breznican notes, the characters of John Boyega and Daisy Ridley are the only characters right now with one-word names. All the others that we’ve learned — with the exception of the new droid — consist of two. According to Abrams, this is no coincidence. He wouldn’t reveal the last names of these folks, but he did say that it’s "completely intentional" that we don’t know them. All we do know at this point is that Finn is a runaway Stormtrooper and Rey is a scavenger on the desert planet Jakku.

Blended From Around The Web



Hot Topics

Cookie Settings
Gateway Blend ©copyright 2018