Leave a Comment

It’s been a long time since the Yeah Yeah Yeah’s have been at the forefront of music news. In the time since the band’s 2009 album, It’s Blitz!, dropped frontwoman Karen O went on to write music for the Where the Wild Things soundtrack and in 2011, the band hinted there might be a new album for fans to look forward to in 2013. As it turns out, fans won’t have to wait much longer for a new album. Mosquito is set to be available for purchase in April of this year.

Mosquito is the band’s fourth studio album. The band dropped the above art as well as a message announcing Mosquito on Monday. Interestingly, the album was recorded at Sonic Ranch in Tornillo, Texas, the same location that Beach House’s fourth studio, Bloom, was recorded at. I wish I could say the two bands worked together on one weird-ass track, but as it stands, Mosquito will have a few different players in the lineup.

According to NME, one track will feature Dr. Octagon and will be produced by James Murphy, of LCD Soundsystem fame. Karen O also told the outlet that Mosquito will be similar to the band’s other bodies of work, in that it will be all over the place—meaning it should also be completely different than anything the Yeah Yeah Yeahs have put out before.
"Well…it’s definitely different from the last album. So I guess you could say that hasn’t changed about us! It’s all over the place. The sound of the record is, I guess, a bit more lo-fi sounding and slightly more influenced by roots reggae.”

Keep your eyes peeled for new music on the horizon--because it’s definitely coming--and look for Mosquito to hit outlets on April 16.