The League Season 4 Promos Feature Terrell Suggs And Tebowing

Football fan or not, The League is one of the best comedies on TV. Of course, knowing a little about the sport helps, and playing in fantasy league yourself puts you firmly inside the inside jokes, but neither is essential to enjoying the pleasures of this small group of friends constantly backstabbing and sabotaging each other in hopes of winning the ever changing trophy and, more importantly, huge bragging rights that come with being Shiva Bowl Champion.

And with the fourth season just a few downs away, there is really only one way to celebrate, a Shiva Blast. Okay, you could also celebrate by releasing some promotional videos to remind us just how much we've missed these loveable/despicable characters in the off season. The most recent string revolves around the phenomenon known as 'Tebowing' and there are currently four different, and very brief, promos showing a few of the cast members in the pose, laying down a prayer. Conspicuously absent are Jenny and Kevin Tebowing, perhaps they are on the way, but I think Ruxin's is my favourite.

The bird interrupting his concentration and pissing him off is priceless and par for the course for Rodney. In the previous drive, FX brought in Baltimore Ravens linebacker Terrell Suggs to help with their "Comfortable in my League" campaign. Yeah, it at first struck me as a little odd too but they are clearly spoofing jean ads and other commercials you might see on Sundays. Americana! This one sums up all of the individual spots nicely (there's one for each of the characters, except Kevin's seems to be missing)...

Head over to the series' YouTube channel to watch all the promos, clocking in at about 16 seconds or so each, enough time to deliver one solid, character based joke. Kevin is once again missing (but he did manage to make the group spot above) and I wish we got to see a bit of Jason Mantzoukas as Rafi because he almost always steals the show. Season 4 of The League premieres on Thursday, October 11 at 10:30 p.m. ET on FX. Created by Jeff Schaffer and Jackie Marcus Schaffer, the series stars Mark Duplass, Steve Rannazzisi, Nick Kroll, Paul Scheer, Jon Lajoie and Katie Aselton.