Leave a Comment

For children of the ‘80s, the Footloose and Dirty Dancing soundtracks are nostalgic treasure chests. Each song is intrinsically linked to specific scenes in the original movies, so when word broke that both films were being remade, purists probably were more worried about their beloved pop songs than which new actor would place Baby in the corner.

Craig Brewer’s allegedly gritty take on Herbert Ross’s dancing classic lands in theaters first (it opens on Oct. 14), and Atlantic Records/Warner Music Nashville just pulled back the curtain on the remake’s soundtrack, which will feature new material and fresh cuts of familiar tracks. Country music superstar Blake Shelton, who built a huge following as a guest mentor on NBC’s The Voice, sings the film’s title song, “Footloose.” Victoria Justice and Hunter Hayes will duet on the movie’s love theme, “Almost Paradise.” Ella Mae Bowen will take a shot at the driving beats of “Holding Out For a Hero,” while Jana Kramer is handling the bubbly “Let’s Hear It For the Boy.”

Those titles likely aren’t going to convince teens to download the new Footloose soundtrack, so Atlantic wisely recruited marketable stars like Big & Rich, Cee Lo Green, David Banner, Whitney Duncan, Lissie and Zac Brown of Zac Brown Band to sing original songs that will be featured in the film. All that’s left is to see newcomer Kenny Wormald cut loose. Footloose. He’s playing Kevin Bacon’s infamous anti-hero Ren MacCormack, dance, and Brewer’s remake hinges on his moves.

Here’s the official Footloose soundtrack track listing:

1. Footloose – Blake Shelton
2. Where The River Goes – Zac Brown of Zac Brown Band
3. Little Lovin’ – Lissie
4. Holding Out For A Hero – Ella Mae Bowen
5. Let’s Hear It For The Boy – Jana Kramer
6. So Sorry Mama – Whitney Duncan
7. Fake I.D. – Big & Rich feat. Gretchen Wilson
8. Almost Paradise – Victoria Justice & Hunter Hayes
9. Walkin’ Blues – Cee Lo Green feat. Kenny Wayne Shepherd
10. Window Paine – The Smashing Pumpkins
11. Suicide Eyes – A Thousand Horses
12. Dance The Night Away – David Banner