Yesterday we got a fantastic first look at and news about the soundtrack for Marvel Studios' Guardians of the Galaxy. The studio officially revealed the cover art for the album - which is a mixtape labeled "Awesome Mix Vol. 1" sat in the cassette player aboard Star-Lord's ship - and revealed that it would be available in stores on July 29th. What they forgot to include - to the chagrin of many - was the name of the various songs that made up the tracklist. Thanks to director James Gunn, that's no longer an issue.

As he's been doing a lot lately, the filmmaker took to his personal Facebook account recently to calm fans who are upset that we still don't know what songs are going to be featured in Guardians of the Galaxy. In addition to the list of 12 songs, he also included a memo explaining what the songs mean to him and how they will be presented in the film. You can read his thoughts below:
You wanted the track list for the Guardians of the Galaxy? soundtrack, here it is -

NOTE this is not the entirety of the Mixed Tape that Peter Quill listens to, the one that I gave to Chris Pratt that he listened to endlessly before the movie started. That is a longer list, that includes these songs, among others. I'll release that full list closer to the release of them film

Because some people might consider this track list a spoiler to some degree, so I've chosen to hold off on posting the list of tracks until this point in the article. If you don't want to know the songs in the movie turn away now - otherwise, enjoy!
1. Blue Swede – Hooked on a Feeling
2. Raspberries – Go All the Way
3. Norman Greenbaum – Spirit in the Sky
4. David Bowie – Moonage Daydream
5. Elvin Bishop – Fooled Around and Fell in Love
6. 10Cc – I’m Not in Love
7. Jackson 5 – I Want You Back
8. Redbone – Come and Get Your Love
9. The Runaways – Cherry Bomb
10. Rupert Holmes – Escape (The Pina Colada Song)
11. The Five Stairsteps – O-O-H Child
12. Marvin Gaye/Tammi Terrell – Ain’t No Mountain High Enough

As I predicted yesterday, the songs featured in the trailer - "Hooked on a Feeling" by Blue Swede, "Spirit In The Sky" by Norman Greenbaum, and "Cherry Bomb" by The Runaways - are all going to be part of the movie, along with some other very eclectic titles from many different genres. I'm personally not going to start hardcore listening to these tracks now, instead waiting for Guardians of the Galaxy to use them in its own context, but now I know that the movie is going to have me tapping my foot way more than expected.

Stay tuned for the release of the full mixtape list later this month, and see Guardians of the Galaxy in theaters August 1st.
Zoe Saldana's Best Movie And TV Performances, Ranked news 4M Zoe Saldana's Best Movie And TV Performances, Ranked Rich Knight
If You Like Bradley Cooper, Here Are 12 Great Movies And TV Shows To Watch On Streaming news 6M If You Like Bradley Cooper, Here Are 12 Great Movies And TV Shows To Watch On Streaming Jason Wiese
Guardians of the Galaxy 8M Guardians of the Galaxy Sydney Skubic