LEGO Marvel Super Heroes 2 Adds The Runaways Via DLC

LEGO Marvel Super Heros 2 The Runaways
(Image credit: WB Games)

TT Games and Warner Bros., may have already teamed up with Pixar for the release of LEGO The Incredibles for home consoles and PC, but that doesn't mean that TT Games has given up on the LEGO Marvel Super Heroes 2 content. In fact, the latest DLC introduces gamers to The Runaways.

Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment announced that the new Runaways DLC pack is available right now for $2.99 for LEGO Marvel Super Heroes 2. The DLC adds a brand new interactive level and characters that are based on the comic book series from Brian K. Vaughn.

The characters weren't just added as lip service to Vaughn's comic book series, it was also done to help lure in fans of the recent television showe based on The Runaways comic book series. So, both comic book fans and TV fans will be able to pick up and play their favorite characters from the show or the colored pages and have fun in the buildable world of LEGO.

The actual level included in LEGO Marvel Super Heroes 2 is based on a story from the comic book that involves venturing to an underwater location called the Marine Vivarium. There, players will attempt to escape from the criminal parent group known as "The Pride." Supposedly, a lot of chaos and destruction will reign supreme within the Marine Vivarium, and it will be up to players to battle through the level using Nico Minoru, Chase Stein, Alex Wilder, Karolina Dean, Molly Hayes, Old Lace, and Gertrude Yorkes.

I'm surprised that the developers added seven playable characters in a $2.99 DLC pack, but it helps bring more replayability to a game that already has more than 200 super heroes jam packed into the product.

As mentioned, this latest DLC is available right now for $2.99 if you decide to purchase it separately. However, if you decid to grab a copy of the season pass, then you don't have to worry about paying separately for the DLC, since it's included in the bundle pack for $14.99, as detailed on the official website.

Alternatively, the season pass is automatically included with the LEGO Marvel Super Heroes 2 Deluxe Edition, which comes with the base game, the season pass, and a character pack for the Guardians of the Galaxy. Additional characters such as Cloak & Dagger and Black Panther are also part of the Deluxe Edition. That's not to mention that it also comes with a LEGO mini-figure for Giant-Man, if you decide to pick up a physical version of the Deluxe Edition.

The main game itself centers around a group of the Marvel heroes taking on Kang the Conqueror, who manages to breach the barriers of inter-dimensional space and attempt to conquer the universe. Players will be required to take on the roles of the various heroes and anti-heroes from the Marvel Cinematic Universe and the Marvel Comics universe, as they team up to fight a variety of foes and restore peace and prosperity to the galaxy.

LEGO Marvel Super Heroes 2 is currently available for PC, PS4, Xbox One and the Nintendo Switch.

Will Usher

Staff Writer at CinemaBlend.