American McGee and his merry band of developers at Spicy Horse have really gotten the ball rolling on upcoming free-to-play online action roleplaying game, Akaneiro: Demon Hunters. The studio has this week begun a Kickstarter campaign to finish up the project, announced the launch of an open beta and, today, have announced a partnership with Dark Horse Comics to turn the video game into a three-part comic book series.

A mixture of Japanese folktales and the story of Little Red Riding Hood, and featuring gameplay reminiscent of Diablo and an art style similar to Okami, Akaneiro looks like a badass blend of several things I adore and, starting May 22, the game will even be breaking into one of my other favorite forms of entertainment: comics.

The three-part comic series will be written by Star Wars: The Clone Wars scribe, Justin Aclin, and illustrated by Vasillis Lolos, of Conan the Barbarian fame. Covers will be designed by members of the game’s art team. The comic’s story will follow Kani, a young woman on a quest to kill demons and, unknowingly, set her own great destiny into motion.

Spicy Horse announced on Monday that they would be Kickstarting Akaneiro through its final push, hoping to crowd fund the remainder of the project rather than rely on a publisher. The Kickstarter has raised a quarter of its $200,000 goal with 23 days remaining.

Just yesterday, Spicy Horse also announced that the game would be skipping past a closed beta and moving straight into an open beta. While players can expect quite a few more bugs and hiccups than they might be used to in an open beta phase, McGee and company decided the best way to get folks to back their Kickstarter was to let everyone play the game in its current state.

You can throw a few of your own dollars at the project by visiting the Akeneiro: Demon Hunters Kickstarter page. To jump into the beta, visit the game’s official website. As for the comic, look for it to hit newsstands starting May 22.

Blended From Around The Web



Top Games

Gateway Blend ©copyright 2017