New Tracks Unveiled For Guitar Hero 3!

Guitar Hero 3: Legends of Rock is ready to take the stage at the end of this month, and Activision just revealed a slew of amazing new tracks that are nothing to shake a Stratocaster at (looking in your direction, Rock Band). Though slightly more than half of these new additions are strapped with the “made famous by” label, (meaning those are cover songs), there’s a hefty chunk of master-track content in here as well.

The new additions to the GH3 line-up are:

  • Same Old Song and Dance (by Aerosmith)
  • Helicopter (by Bloc Party)
  • Stricken (by Disturbed)
  • Monsters (by Matchbook Romance)
  • Before I Forget (by Slipknot)
  • Kool Thing (by Sonic Youth)
  • When You Were Young (by The Killers)
  • Devil Went Down to Georgia (as made famous by Charlie Daniels Band)
  • Sunshine of Your Love (as made famous by Cream)
  • Holiday in Cambodia (as made famous by Dead Kennedys)
  • Cliffs of Dover (as made famous by Eric Johnson)
  • Hit Me with Your Best Shot (as made famous by Pat Benetar)
  • Black Magic Woman (as made famous by Santana)
  • Story of My Life (as made famous by Social Distortion)
  • Pride and Joy (as made famous by Stevie Ray Vaughn)
  • The Seeker (as made famous by The Who)
  • Black Sunshine (as made famous by White Zombie)

Devil Went Down to Georgia is going to rock some serious face, and I’ll probably have to resist the urge to turn my guitar upwards and play it like a violin while playing that one. For all the media hype surrounding Rock Band, Guitar Hero 3 is looking to have one absolutely killer set list if nothing else. We’ll see if some of the revisions in gameplay live up to the music once Guitar Hero 3 takes the stage on October 28th!